So today is a blergh day. I’ve been trying to compose a post about being pregnant and how its been the same/different than what I imagined it would be like. But since today is being all %@$#! I give you this half arsed offering.

Chocolate Applesauce Bread

Ingredients

1/2  cup (1 stick) butter, at room temperature
1-1/3  cups granulated sugar
2  eggs
1-1/2  cups unsweetened applesauce
3  cups all-purpose flour
1/4  cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1-3/4  teaspoons baking soda
1/2  teaspoon salt
1/2  teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/8  teaspoon ground nutmeg
2/3  cup milk chocolate chips
1/2  cup dry-roasted unsalted peanuts, chopped
* Garnish:
1  teaspoon confectioners’ sugar
1  teaspoon unsweetened cocoa powder

Directions

1. Heat oven to 350°F. Coat nonstick loaf pan (11-1/2 x 5-1/2 x 3 inches) or 2 loaf pans (8-1/2 x 4-1/2 x 2-3/8 inches) with nonstick vegetable cooking spray.

2. Beat butter and sugar on medium speed in large bowl until smooth and fluffy, 2 minutes. Add eggs; beat 1 minute. Beat in applesauce (mixture will look curdled).

3. Mix flour, cocoa, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg in large bowl. Make well in center. Add applesauce mixture, chocolate chips and peanuts to well; stir into flour mixture until just combined and flour mixture is evenly moistened. Spoon mixture into prepared pan(s).

4. Bake in 350°F oven 60 to 65 minutes, until toothpick tests clean. Let cool in pan(s) 15 minutes. Turn out onto rack; let cool completely.

5. Garnish: Dust with sugar, cocoa.

Now I tell you what I did a bit differently.

1. I did not use butter. When I bake this again for relatives over the holidays I will. But I am too cheap ass to use butter for my own household baking.

2. The baking soda thing? With all it’s complicated ness?? I just used 1 1/2 tsp. Everything turned out fine!

3. The choc chip part I did not measure out, so I’m not sure how much I used, but it wasn’t enough! More choc chips next time!

4. While I have a hand mixer, I HATE using it. So I just used a whisk for everything. Turned out great anyways! I figure since you know, people have been baking for ever. And not had electric mixers for that long it would probably be fine. And it was.

Oh, and I didn’t do the garnishing either, cuz I’m lazy.  OR! The peanuts, cuz I didn’t have any and! Thought it would be creepy.

OH! Baking tips! Eggs should always be room temperature. And to keep things nice and moist, cover the bread in tin foil after you take out of the oven so the steam goes back into the bread.

